Header Ads Widget

History Of Lord Shiva | Lord Shiva Story

Know the History of Lord Shiva

Lord Shiva is part of the holy trinity and is called the destroyer. The word ‘Shiva’ means ‘the auspicious one’. He is known as the destroyer and also merciful. Lord Shiva has 108 names and He has different forms. He is also known as Mahadev which means ‘the great God’.

According to the legend Lord Shiva originated from Rudra who was very fierce. The word ‘Rudra’ means ‘the roarer’ and is associated with wind or storm. The Lord Beings was the father of Rudra and the Goddess of dawn Usha was his mother. Lord Shiva is also referred to as Rudra.

History Of Lord Shiva

History Of Lord Shiva | Image Resource : dailypioneer.com

In the holy trinity Brahma is called the creator, Vishnu is called the preserver and Lord Shiva is called the destroyer. When it is discussed who is the most powerful of the three. Some say Brahma as he created the universe, some say Vishnu as he is the protector and some say it is Lord Shiva as he has the power to destroy the universe.

As per a story Brahma and Vishu were arguing who is the supreme God. A pillar of fire appeared before them. Brahma flew up to reach the top of the pillar while Vishnu went to find the base of the pillar. Brahma lied to Vishnu that he had reached the top. Lord Shiva appeared out of the pillar and told Lord Brahma that he had lied. Lord Shiva then declared Himself to be the supreme God. This signifies Lord Shiva’s omnipresence in the universe. Many Hindus believe that Lord Shiva is the Lord of reality.

Lord Shiva has the characteristics of being fierce and kind. His forms show opposite nature. He is also called the Mahayogi who lives and meditates on Mount Kailash. He has the key for the highest spiritual knowledge. Lord Shiva represents destruction as well as the regeneration. Goddess Parvati is His wife. She is the daughter of Lord Himavata and Minavati.

Lord Shiva is known to have three eyes. His third key is the key of knowledge. His third key gives Him the power to offer wisdom or destroy. The three eyes of Shiva represent sun, moon and fire. According to the legend Kamadev was trying to get Lord Shiva to marry Parvati and break His vow of chastity. He planted arrows of lust into Lord Shiva’s heart. When Lord Shiva awoke He destroyed Kamadev with His third eye.

Another characteristic of Lord Shiva is His blue throat. When the Deities and the Demons churned the sea for ‘Amrut’ what came out first was the pot of poison. Lord Shiva drank this and due to the poison His throat turned blue. He holds the poison in His throat.

Lord Shiva is known to have matted hair and the river Ganga flows from His head. It is said that river Ganga was descending on the earth with full force. Lord Shiva caught river Gnaga in his hair and made many streams of it and released it to the earth. Thus destruction was avoided.

He wears a cobra around His neck. This represents His power over all the animals in the world. He wears a necklace of sacred beads around His neck. The beads are called ‘Rudraksha’. Lord Shiva is also associated with ghosts and goblins. They are described as deformed and called ‘Ganas’. Lord Shiva named His son ‘Ganesha’ which means the king of ‘Ganas’.

The mount of Lord Shiva is the bull ‘Nandi’. Nandi is a bull and considered to be truth and righteousness. Most of the temples of Lord Shiva have the figure of Nandi placed facing the entrance of the shrines of Lord Shiva.

Lord Shiva has many names and forms. One of the forms of Lord Shiva is the ‘Nataraja’ - the God of dance. In this form He is depicted in a dancing pose in a ring of flames. This ring is called ‘Torana’ and the dance is called ‘Tandava’. ‘Tandava’ is known as the dance of destruction. In this form He has four hands out of which one holds a ‘Damru’, one holds the flame of destruction, the remaining two hands offer protection. He offers salvation with His lower hands and protection with His upper hands. He stands with His left foot suspended and the right foot stands on the Demon of ignorance - Muyalaka. This dance is the dance of anger and it gives the power to destroy the universe.

Lord Shiva is rarely worshiped in His art form. He is worshiped in the temples in the form of Shivalingam. According to a legend Sage Bhrighu wanted to visit Lord Shiva but was turned away by Nandi. The sage cursed Lord Shiva that He would not be worshipped in his true form but in the form of a Lingam.

There are many festivals and holy days dedicated in the name of Lord Shiva. Festivals celebrated in the name of Lord Shiva are Shivaratri and MahaShivaratri. Monday is considered to be Lord Shiva’s favourite day. The month of Shravan is the holiest month and the Mondays coming in this month are called ‘Shravan Somvar’. Lord Shiva is worshipped on these days.

Some of the women practice ‘Solah Somvar vrat’ which means ‘fasting for16 mondays’. An unmarried woman who fasts for 16 weeks and prays to Lord Shiva on Mondays will be blessed with a good husband. This fast can be done anytime of the year.

Shaivism is the part of Hindu tradition which believes Lord Shiva to be the Supreme God. Lord Shiva is considered to be controlling the entire cycle of the universe. The followers of Shaivism are called ‘Shaivites’. The Shiva Purana is the holy book of the Shaivites.

Lord Shiva story

Goddess Sati wanted to marry Lord Shiva but her father refused. King Daksh who was Sati’s father organized a yagna and did not invite Shiva or Sati. Stai decided to visit the yagna. Daksh insulted her and Shiva and so she immolated herself. Lord Shiva carried the cremated body of Sati and started wandering. Lord Vishnu used His sudarshan chakra to cut Sati’s body which scattered on the earth. Wherever the body parts fell Shaktipeeths were established. Goddess Sati is said to be reborn as Parvati. Lord Shiva’s wife is Goddess Parvati.

Post a Comment